The Society of Women in Urology
is dedicated to promoting Women as Urologists

SWIU/SBUR Award for Excellence in Urological Research Award

Nominations for this award are accepted by the SBUR (, who will nominate two candidates for consideration by the Board of Directors of SWIU, who will make the final decision.

Appropriate candidates are members of SBUR who hold an M.D., a Ph.D. or both and who have a distinguished track record of urological research.

The award winner receives a monetary award and one year free membership to Society of Women in Urology. The winner is also asked to present a brief summary of their accomplishments at the Annual Breakfast Meeting, and is invited to the Women Leaders in Urology Forum and the Networking Reception.

Nominations for the SWIU/SBUR Award for Excellence in Basic Urologic Research are currently being accepted by SBUR. Please be sure to include a brief resume in your nomination. The winner will be notified in April.

Past Recipients of the SWIU/SBUR Award for Excellence
in Urological Research Award

  • 2017Susan Kasper, PhD
  • 2016Donna Peehl, PhD
    Stanford University School of Medicine
  • 2015Karen Knudsen, MD
  • 2014Diane Robins, PhD
  • 2013Nancy L. Weigel, PhD
  • 2012Jill A. Macoska, PhD
  • 2011Linda Alford Baker, MD
  • 2010 Marianne Sadar, PhD
    BC Cancer Agency
  • 2009Gail S. Prins, PhD
    University of Illinois at Chicago
  • 2008Dolores Lamb, PhD
    Baylor College of Medicine
  • 2007Shuk Mei Ho, PhD
    University of Cincinnati Medical Center
  • 2006Natasha Kyprianou, MD, PhD
    University of Kentucky Medical Center