The Society of Women in Urology
is dedicated to promoting Women as Urologists

Elisabeth Pickett Research Award

The Elisabeth Pickett Research Award makes funds available for small research grants for basic, translation or clinical urologic research. The awards may be used to continue or supplement a current project or to initiate new study.

Awardees are expected to attend the Annual Breakfast Meeting on Sunday, May 20, 2018 and the Society of Women in Urology Networking Reception.  Awardees also shall present a five-minute summary of their work at the Annual Breakfast Meeting.

The 2018 Elisabeth Pickett Research Award is $2,500, payable to the institution where SWIU Research activity will be completed.  The award will be presented at the Annual Breakfast Meeting.


Eligible candidates include: trained urologists, (M.D. /D.O.), urology residents, urology fellows, research fellows (Ph.D.) with a research interest in urologic or related diseases and dysfunctions. Candidates must be members of Society of Women in Urology, Inc.


Applications will be reviewed by the SWIU Research Committee based on the scientific merit of the research proposal (i.e. does the proposal have a hypothesis, how well does the proposed research test the hypothesis, etc.) along with determining portions of project that can be accommodated by the amount of funding available. Selections are made by the Research Committee and are subject to the final approval of the SWIU Board of Directors. The Elisabeth Pickett Research Award operates without discrimination as to age, race, religion, sex, handicap or national origin in the selection of participants.


At the completion of the project, awardees must submit a brief project summary for review by SWIU. The summary shall include results of research in two forms: (a) technical report (b) a report in lay terms.


  • Applications will be accepted June 15 to December 11, 2017
  • Late submissions will not be reviewed
  • Recipient(s) will be notified of the award by March 15, 2018

Download the Application

Past Recipients of the Elisabeth Pickett Research Award

  • 2017Courtney Shepard, MD
  • 2016Bernadette M.M. Zwaans, PhD
  • 2015Carolina Jorges, MD
  • 2013Jodi Antonelli, MD
  • 2012Yasmin Iqbal Bootwala, MD
    Una J. Lee, MD
  • 2011 Akanksha Mehta, MD
    Anne M. Suskind, MD
  • 2010 Cynthia See-Ming Fok, MD
    Kathleen Hwang, MD
    Stacy Loeb, MD
  • 2009Jennifer Taylor, MD
    Mary Samplaski, MD
  • 2008Rose Khavari, MD
    Van Anh Thi Ginger, MD
    Ruthie Rebecca Su, MD
  • 2007Katie Nicole Ballert, MD
    Aimee L. Wiltz, MD
    Nadya Megan Cinman, MD
  • 2006Carley Davis, MD
    Hadley M. Woods, MD
  • 2005Kathleen Kieran,MD
  • 2004Adrienne J. Carmack, MD
  • 2003Joanna K. Chon, MD
  • 2002Anne-Marie Houle, MD
    Sophia Drinis, MD
  • 2001Anne-Marie Houle, MD
  • 2000Jennifer E. Peters, MD
    Karyn Schlunt-Eiber, MD
    Margot S. Damaser, PhD
  • 1999 Karyn Schlunt Eilber, MD
    Tracy Cannon-Smith, MD
    Margot S. Damaser, PhD
  • 1998 Martha K. Terris, MD
    Claire C. Yang, MD
    Cathy Kim Naughton, MD
    Catherine Rhu deVries, MD
  • 1997 Martha K. Terris, MD
    Marlene Corujo, MD
    Kyoko Sakamoto, MD
  • 1996 Larissa V. Rodriguez, MD
    Jennifer MacPherson Abidari, MD
    Beth Arkady Andersen, MD