The Society of Women in Urology
is dedicated to promoting Women as Urologists

Christina Manthos Mentoring Award

Christina Manthos was an extraordinary young urologist whose life and career were sadly curtailed by breast cancer. As a means of perpetuating the flame of her inspiration and honoring her memory, SWIU established an annual award to recognize those men or women who demonstrate extraordinary mentoring skills in supporting the career of a female urologist. SWIU believes that a mentor is an important element in the life of each professional woman and wants to encourage and reward those who set a good example.


Appropriate candidates for this award are men or women who have demonstrated extraordinary mentoring skills to female urologists.


The SWIU Board of Directors reviews the candidates at the Winter Board Meeting and will present the award to the person that best exemplifies the mentoring traits that the award intends to encourage.  Candidates will be considered in subsequent years if they are not selected in the year nominated.


  • Applications will be accepted June 15 to December 11, 2017
  • Late submissions will not be reviewed
  • Recipient(s) will be notified of the award by March 15, 2018

Download the Application

Past Recipients of the Christina Manthos Mentoring Award

  • 2017Kurt McCammon, MD
  • 2016Karyn S. Eilber, MD
  • 2015Christian Winters, MD
  • 2014Elizabeth R. Mueller, MD, MS
  • 2013Lynn H. Banowsky, MD
  • 2012Deborah R. Erickson, MD
  • 2011Steven W. Siegel, MD
  • 2010 Donald G. Skinner, MD
  • 2009Edward J. McGuire, MD
  • 2008Tamara Bavendam, MD
  • 2007Michael B. Chancellor, MD
  • 2006Robert C. Flanigan, MD, Maywood, IL
  • 2005Jean L. Fourcroy, MD, PhD, Bethesda, MD
  • 2004 Marguerite C. Lippert, MD, Charlottesville, VA
  • 2003 Gloria Susan Massey, MD, Houston, TX
  • 2002Martha K. Terris, MD, Augusta, GA
  • 2001Margaret Cate Wolf, MD, Clinton, IA
  • 2000Dave McCloud, MD and Craig Donatucci, MD